EDIT MAIN
Plus_blue

All 50 states and the District of Columbia have immunization requirements for children entering school. In Nebraska, children will not be allowed to attend classes in public or private school until the school has written proof of their immunization status.

To attend school, children in Nebraska are required by law to be immunized against the following diseases:

  • Diphtheria, Tetanus, and Pertussis
  • Polio
  • MMR (Measles, Mumps, and Rubella)
  • Hepatitis B
  • Varicella (Chickenpox)

Each school in Nebraska is required to keep the immunization history of the students enrolled on file. Parents or guardians must present one of the following documents to the school to verify immunization status:

  • An immunization record showing that the child is protected by age-appropriate immunizations.
  • A statement signed by a physician that the required immunization would be injurious to the student or members of the student’s family or household.
  • An affidavit signed by a legally authorized representative stating that the immunization conflicts with the tenets and practices of a recognized religious denomination of which the student is a member.

The following are the state of Nebraska immunization requirements for the 2018–19 school year.

All students grades K through 12 must have:

  1. Three (3) doses of DTaP, DTP, Td, or DT vaccine (one dose given on or after the fourth birthday)
  2. Three (3) doses of Polio vaccine
  3. Two (2) doses of MMR vaccine
    (given on or after 12 months of age and separated by at least one month)
  4. Three (3) doses of pediatric Hepatitis B vaccine
    (or 2 doses of adolescent vaccine if student is11-15 years of age)
  5. Two (2) doses of Varicella (Chickenpox) vaccine (given on or after 12 months of age)
    If the child has had Chickenpox (Varicella disease), they do not need Varicella vaccinations. Written documentation (including year) of Varicella disease from parent, guardian, or health care provider will be accepted.
  6. Seventh Grade Only – 1 dose of Tdap (must contain Pertussis booster) – This dose can be received any time after 10 or 11 years of age, depending on which brand of vaccine is used.

Anyone with questions can contact their health care provider or a school nurse.